Michael/Male/26-30. Lives in United States/Pennsylvania/Wexford/Christopher Wren, speaks English. Spends 20% of daytime online. Uses a Fast (128k-512k) connection. And likes baseball /politics.
This is my blogchalk:
United States, Pennsylvania, Wexford, Christopher Wren, English, Michael, Male, 26-30, baseball , politics.

Tuesday, November 20, 2007

M-V-P! M-V-P! M-V-P! M-V-P! 

Jimmy Rollins won the 2007 National League MVP award today, making it the second consecutive season that a Philadelphia Phillie has won the award. Rollins won a close vote, taking 16 first-place votes (out of 32) and garnering 353 points, edging out Matt Holliday with 11 first-place votes and 336 points. The Brewers Prince Fielder got 5 first-place votes with 284 points.

The victory was a triumph for all-around performance over eye-popping stats. Rollins was arguably the best (or one of the best) defensive shortstops in baseball. He packed a lot of power in his swing: 30 Home Runs and 94 RBI. He displayed a lot of speed: an N.L.-leading 20 triples and 41 steals, good for fifth in the N.L. Rollins leadership and enthusiasm, intangibles, helped fuel the Phillies exceedingly improbable run to the N.L. East title. Rollins was the most important player in the league because he was vital to the Phillies success.

Take nothing away from Holliday and Fielder, both terrific players, but they are sluggers with little else to offer their teams. Rollins does it all: slugging, speed, defense and he’s a leader who put his bat where his mouth is.

This is the first time that teammates have won the MVP since Jeff Kent and Barry Bonds in 2000 – 2001. Rollins and Howard are the first Phillies to win the MVP since Mike Schmidt did so three times in the 1980’s: 1980, 1981 and 1986. Past Phillies to win the MVP are Kim Konstanty in 1950 and Chuck Klein in 1932. J.Roll’s ‘07 is the seventh MVP award the Phillies have won.


2006: Howard
2007: Rollins
2008: Utley?
Post a Comment

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?